Logo Header

News & Advice

What Are The GAAP Standards?

What Are The GAAP Standards

GAAP or Generally Accepted Accounting Principles. These are standardized principles used by companies to compile their financial statements. GAAP aims to ensure consistency, comparability, and transparency in financial reporting, allowing investors, creditors, regulators, and other stakeholders to make informed decisions about the company.

Key components of GAAP include…

1. Relevance – Financial information should be relevant to the needs of users and capable of influencing their decisions.

2. Reliability – Financial information should be reliable, meaning it is free from material error and bias and faithfully represents the economic substance of transactions and events.

3. Comparability – Financial information should be comparable across different periods and companies, allowing users to identify similarities and differences.

4. Consistency – Accounting policies and methods should be applied consistently from period to period and across similar transactions to enhance comparability.

5. Understandability – Financial information should be presented clearly and in a manner that is understandable to users who have a reasonable understanding of business and economic activities.

GAAP is developed and maintained by various standard-setting bodies, including the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) in the United States. The FASB establishes and updates GAAP standards through a transparent and inclusive process that involves input from stakeholders, including investors, preparers, auditors, and regulators.

Some key GAAP standards include…

1. Revenue Recognition (ASC 606) – Guides on when and how to recognize revenue from contracts with customers.

2. Leases (ASC 842) – Guides accounting for leases by lessees and lessors.

3. Financial Instruments (ASC 825, ASC 815) – Guides accounting for various financial instruments, including derivatives and hedging activities.

4. Inventory Valuation (ASC 330) – Guides the valuation and measurement of inventory, including cost flow assumptions such as FIFO, LIFO, and weighted average.

5. Goodwill Impairment (ASC 350) – Guides the accounting for goodwill and intangible assets, including impairment testing.

Companies need to comply with GAAP standards when preparing their financial statements to ensure consistency, comparability, and transparency in financial reporting. Compliance with GAAP standards also helps enhance investor confidence and credibility in the company’s financial information.